2015 Asphalt Paving Awards

Perpetual Pavement Award

The Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) has the record of 13 National Perpetual Pavement Awards over the past 13 years for the following roadways:

The criteria for this prestigious national award are pavement sections that are 35 years or older, have not had major structural failure, have on average at least 13 years between overlays, and should demonstrate excellence in design, quality in construction and value to the traveling public (see www.AsphaltRoads.org). The figure below shows the number of Perpetual Pavement Awards per states or province.

The 2014 award winning project (TH 47 in Fridley) is an example of design and endorsement of long-life, perpetual asphalt pavement in Minnesota. The initial construction of the TH 47 alignment began in 1965 and the surface was paved in 1966. In certain areas, the in-place material was subcut and backfilled with granular material to improve drainage in the structure.

This 4 mile long segment of TH 47 is a major route for daily commuting and truck traffic. Thanks to the progressive vision and partnering efforts of agency and industry representatives, this project (TH 47) has demonstrated outstanding design, construction, and performance value for 48 years of service to the traveling public of Minnesota. Through projects such as this, Minnesota played an outstanding role in the history of transportation, technological change, and asphalt construction. Congratulations to the Minnesota Department of Transportation!



Mike Barnes (MnDOT), Audrey Copeland (NAPA)


Work Zone Safety Award

This is the 27th Annual Work Zone Safety Award, which has been handed out since 1989 and is a joint effort between the Mn/DOT Offices of Construction and Traffic Engineering.

Static Low Volume category which has an ADT Less than 10,000 ADT

The Winner is SP 6922-53, in District 1, Bituminous Surfacing on
TH 53, as part of the Ash River Slide Repair.

Some Highlights:
• This project spanned 4 miles of TH 53 and repaired 5 separate areas of unstable subgrade and slope failures that had been maintenance problems for many years.
• The five different work areas each had a unique traffic control strategy but the contractor proposed combining the traffic control work into one stage to allow work at multiple work areas and accelerate the project schedule.
• Changes to the TTC plan required more PPCB to shift traffic away from the work area and this added to worker safety by providing positive protection.
• One location encountered much worse than expected subgrade conditions and this resulted in a SA for additional excavation. Since this reduced the width of the roadway to one lane and slope stability was compromised, it was decided to work 24/7 until this area was repaired. This resulted in several days of 24/7 flagging.
• There was daily coordination between the Chief Inspector and the Contractor for all issues including traffic control. All devices were in good to excellent condition. No crashes were experienced on this project.


(L to R): Leigh Kriewall, Rob Ronning, Dwayne Hill, MnDOT; Clayton Gladen, Gladen Construction Inc; Dave Mavec, MnDOT; Mike Barnes, MnDOT

Asphalt Paving Awards

A “Merit Award” program was initiated in 1962 and has had a significant effect on the quality of construction by publicly honoring the “Best Projects” in a variety of categories each year. In 1999 it was decided that the Annual Asphalt Conference sponsored by MAAPT and the MAPA Annual Meeting would be tied back-to-back. Therefore, the awards program was also reviewed for this joint social/ banquet/ awards ceremony from 2000 to today.

The categories for the 2015 Asphalt Merit Awards are:
New/ Reconditioning/ Reconstruction – Low Traffic Volume
Resurfacing/ Thin Overlay – Low Traffic Volume
County/ Municipal – Federal Aid Secondary
County/ Municipal – Urban State Aid
County/ Municipal – Rural State Aid
County Roads (Local Funds Only)
Key Airport



TH 12 (Litchfield) – District 8
Agency: MnDOT
Contractor: Hardrives, Inc.


(L to R): Jesse Brazee, Corey Kurth, Justin Rousseau, Kelly Brunkhorst, MnDOT; Darren McAlpine, Hardrives; Mike Barnes, MnDOT




TH 371 (Cass Lake) – District 3
Agency: MnDOT
Contractor: Anderson Brothers Construction Company


(L to R): Tim Miles, Josh Larson, Jeff Hassert, Mike Niemi, Todd Fellerman, Anderson Brothers Construction Company; Chad Eklund, Ross Hendrickson, Mike Barnes, MnDOT




CSAH 17 (Freeborn Co.) – District 6
Agency: Freeborn County
Contractor: Ulland Brothers


(L to R): DJ Kruse, Trevor Gilliam, Andy Erichson, Ulland Brothers; Tim Stapleton, Scott Sorenson, Freeborn County; Mitch Rasmussen, MnDOT



Burnsville Parkway – Metro District
Agency: City of Burnsville
Contractor: Valley Paving, Inc.



(L to R): Ryan Peterson, The City of Burnsville; Matt Diederich, John Wokasch, Valley Paving; Mitch Rasmussen, MnDOT



CSAH 1 (Cass Co.) – District 3
Agency: Cass County
Contractor: Anderson Brothers Construction Company


Josh Larson, Mike Niemi, Todd Fellerman, Jeff Hassert, Anderson Brothers Construction Company; Laura Hadrava, Tom Boege, Dave Enblom, Cass County; Mitch Rasmussen, MnDOT




CR 114&115 (Carlton Co.) – District 1
Agency: Carlton County & Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
Contractor: Northland Constructors of Duluth


(L to R, Back): Andy Edlund, Northland Constructors of Duluth; Jason Hollinday, Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa; Jack Jacobson, Jordan Wagner, Joe Booker, Milt Hagen, Carlton County; Mitch Rasmussen, Mndot; (L to R, Front): Aaron Holmgren, Northland Constructors of Duluth; Alex Bresina, Dave Banta, Ron Stigers, Benji Dearborn, Carlton County



Winona Airport – District 6
Agency: City of Winona, Mead & Hunt, Inc.
Contractor: JB Holland Construction, Inc. & Dunn Blacktop Co. – A Division of Mathy Construction


(L to R): Kraig Defrang, Tim Heintz, Dunn Blacktop Co. – a division of Mathy Construction; Dr. George Bolon, City of Winona; Cassandra Isackson, MnDOT; Michelle Baird, Mead & Hunt, Inc; Adam Kimball, Adam Larson, JB Holland Construction, Inc


MN Industry Ecological Commendation Awards

The Ecological Commendation Awards program recognizes asphalt pavement production facilities that best demonstrate safe and responsible environmental practices. Facilities are judged on their design layout, clean operation, conducted tours for neighborhoods/local community groups/school groups and appearance. Earning the Ecological Commendation serves as a signal to the employees and neighbors that an asphalt pavement facility is a good neighbor.


(L to R): Todd Smedshammer, Bituminous Roadways; Brad Olson, Todd Laubis, Commercial Asphalt Co; Chris Miller, Brian Knutson, Hardrives, Inc; Wayne Gieseke, Mathy Construction Company


The 2015 Industry Ecological Commendation Awards winners are:

Bituminous Roadways (3 Plants)

  • Inver Grove Heights Plant
  • Minneapolis Plant
  • Shakopee Plant

Commercial Asphalt Co. (10 Plants)

  • Burnsville Plant No. 2
  • Empire Plant No. 3
  • Maple Grove Plant No. 4
  • Red Rock Plant No. 5
  • Ramsey Plant No. 6
  • Scandia Plant No. 7
  • Elk River Plant No. 8
  • Blaine Plant No. 9
  • Jackson Plant No. 11
  • Eden Prairie No. 12

Hardrives, Inc. (7 Plants)

  • Plant #201
  • Plant #301
  • Plant #401
  • Plant #501
  • Plant #601
  • Plant #701
  • Plant #801

Mathy Construction Co. (4 Plants)

  • Rochester Sand & Gravel Plant 53
  • Dunn Blacktop Co. Plant 66
  • Rochester Sand & Gravel Plant 77
  • Crane Creek Asphalt Plant 85


Main Menu